Something random that popped into my head

If life is a series of learning experiences, than the last few months have been the accelerated AP courses. I’ve learned who I can trust and who I can’t (the latter list seems to get longer as the former shrinks). I’ve watched so-called friends shed their skin to reveal their true serpentine form, and realised who my truest friends were. The ones who forgive me when I forget to call; the ones that forgave me for ever not trusting them enough that they would accept me no matter how I was, so long as I was happy; the ones who walked with me on my path, who waited, patiently, for me to realise that they’ve been with me all along.

I have had to learn patience, persistence, how to be self sufficient without being prideful and when to ask for help. I have been humbled. I have been made to be thankful for what I have, instead of envious of what I don’t. I have been forced to see that not every “good” thing is the blessing it seems, and not every “bad” thing is the curse we make it out to be.

“What you want might make you cry, what you need might pass you by, if you don’t catch it…And what you need ironically, could turn out what you want to be, if you just let it.”

-Lauryn Hill

I’ve learned my politics, while not clear cut, are not influenced by the fact that we may share some of the same labels.

I’ve learned I have to swallow my fears and insecurities if I really want what I say I want. I have also learned that that sort of courage is easier to talk about than it is to find within yourself.

I’ve learned there’s no point in being honest with others if you continually lie to yourself.

There’s more…but I’m not in the mood to type it all right now

2 Comments »

  1. sumayyah Said:

    How profound.

  2. hardly, but thanks anyway 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

