NPR/BBC withdrawl and other random tidbits

At home we don’t have cable tv. This is because, for the most part, we don’t really watch tv. Oh we havea tv, plus a dvd and a VCR(the link is there for those of you too young to remember when everything was on VHS and there was no such think as YouTube…oh hell, if you belong to that age group, get the hell out of my blog…darn whippersnappers), but those are mostly so that The Kid can watch PowerPuff Girls(she’s Blossom and I’m Buttercup, H goes back and forth between being Professor Utonium and Mojo Jojo) and Backyardigans over and over and over and over and…while I get some work done. This means I get almost all my information and entertainment online and through the radio.

As much as I love my RSS feeds…I can’t say they hold a candle to my local NPR station(which plays BBC world service all night long *le sigh*), and it just so happens that this week is fundraising week (well until later on today) which means every five to ten minutes my favorite shows get interrupted so the employees of said NPR station can beg for money. But I sit through it, mostly because I feel it’s my penance for being too broke to get that damned totebag for a $150 pledge, but also because it’s my main source of news. So much so that, this entire week at my sister’s house, I felt completely disconnected from the rest of the world until I remembered that she has CNN on her satellite. I just happened to catch The Situation Room as they followed the Olympic Torch around San Francisco for over an hour….talk about a damn slow news day.

My sister speaks spanish fluently (which is helpful because her husband is a citizen of Spain that was born in the Dominican Republic), so she watches Novelas on TeleMundo and Univision. Which means I watch Novelas on TeleMundo and Univision because she works from home (lucky). I’ve gotten sort of addicted to them. Unlike US soap operas, Novelas don’t go on forever and ever. They have a distinct start and end point. This means that you can see an actor/actress from one Novela on a completely different one. They also have Novelas that are targeted towards teens. Like historical fiction? They have Novelas that are set in the Victorian era. I actually sort of like these novelas. I’ve never been a soap opera watcher. I hate them for the most part. Rich, beautiful white folks who make problems for themselves. For some reason I just couldn’t relate to that. Granted a lot of the characters on Novelas are rich and beautiful, but they’re Latino, which means they come in all kinds of shades and colors. And they women are CURVY. Not just big boobs. Thick legs, round bottoms, wide hips.

One of the main characters, the title character in fact, of a Novela called Victoria is a woman in her late 40’s early 50’s who was dumped by her (rich) husband for a younger woman only to find herself as the love interest of a man some 20 years her junior. Played by Victoria Ruffo (the darkhaired one), Victoria is not some super-thin impossible beauty. She is classy, always well dressed, and beautiful. She carries herself wonderfully, and yes, she has a little weight on her, but her character has had three children in the course of a 25 year marriage..no one would expect her to be some twiggy heffa. She’d be unbelieveable and no one would really relate or even feel bad for her if she were some cut and sucked plastic surgery doll. BTW this is one of my favorite shows.

Now, my sister is bilingual. I, however, am not. This means I get a play by play from her after each scene. Not as good as hearing the real thing, but she gives me the homegirl break down which adds a certain amount of spice to it.

As much as I’m enjoying this semi vacation, I kinda can’t wait to get back home. I miss being able to call things mine. Plus I forgot to grab this turkey pastrami that was on sale at Meijer last week and I really want a pastrami sandwich (turkey pastrami is about $3 cheaper than regular). More over I miss H. I need to be hugged and kissed and all that. The Kid does that…but in a completely different way.

We’re taking this weird turn in our relationship. I guess because we got married fairly young (I was 21 and he was 22), so we’re growing and changing and having to deal with those changes. I’m one of those never-say-die types so come Hell or high water we’re going ride this out.

BTW…Lewis Black, Root of All Evil….Best. Show. Ever.

2 Comments »

  1. Leonardo Said:

    I was searching for a powerpuff girls picture and actually bumped into your blog. I read the part that says you like Telenovelas (novelas are the books and Telenovelas the TV-shows). I found it interesting and entertaining to read a non-Latino opinion about them. You should learn Spanish though…good jocks always get lost in translation.

    Yours,
    Unexpected

  2. Hi Unexpected,
    Thanks for dropping me a note 🙂

    I know that they are technically called telenovelas, but I, my sister, a friend that used to work for Telemundo, and virtually every other Latino I’ve known (and I’ve known a lot), call them novelas for short (like we call ours soaps instead of soap operas). And since I’m a terrifically lazy writer, I just used novelas instead of telenovelas.

    I know some spanish, but I’m far from fluent (thank you very much Detroit Public School System). I can understand quite a bit from context alone (I’m the same way with German…go figure), but fluency helps. I’ve had to deal with a lot of dialect differences also. I grew up with Cuban neighbors who babysat us for years (and are still very close friends of the family), I’ve had teachers from Venezuela, Mexico, and Puerto Rico and my brother in law is Dominican but lived in Spain for a large part of his life. Add to that the corny “standard” high school Spanish that gets kids laughed out of Latin American countries and you have a nice dialectical mish-mash. I actually got into an argument with an American woman who was teaching a spanish class because I used the Venezuelan term for the color orange as opposed to the “standard” term. I quite happily informed her that the woman I learned from actually WAS Latino and a native Spanish speaker, so if she had a problem with it then she had a problem with a very large country of people who all say it the same way.

    I never liked that heffa any way.

    Anyway, thanks for dropping by, feel free to come again 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post}

Leave a Reply

