An Open Letter to Kwame

Dear Mayor Kilpatrick,

Please, for the love of all that is good and holy, I beg you (and I don’t beg): step down.

As someone who grew up in Detroit, is proud of her city (in spite of it’s faults), and won’t let nary a non-Detroiter talk bad about her hometown, you are making it damn hard for me to keep my head up when I tell people where I’m from.

You’re an embarrassment. You’re embarrassing me, you’re embarrassing your family, you’re embarrassing your supporters (if you have any left), and, most importantly, you’re embarrassing the city. Let’s not mention the fact that you’re embarrassing yourself with this pathetic cling to power. You even tried to play the race card. Granted that move isn’t new, or even surprising, for you. You’ve tried hard to model yourself after your mentor and idol Coleman Young, even to the point of stealing his trademark race baiting, us-against-them tactics whenever there was some bad news about Detroit. The difference is, Coleman Young never brought his city to shame.

Oh, he wasn’t perfect. The man had his share of scandals and failures (The People Mover, for instance), but nothing that reached the international scale that this has. And we can’t blame this on the fact that news of your infidelity has been spread all over the internet. No. Detroit has always been under the world’s magnifying glass thanks to the Big 3. What we do may not make the big waves like New York City or LA, but it makes a ripple, and we all know that a ripple is all that is needed to create a tidal wave.
This scandal of yours is making it impossible for the city to continue to trudge forward. As though that weren’t hard enough given the state of Michigan’s economy to begin with. Step down so we can move on. Please.

I’m ashamed to say it now, but I voted for you your first time in. Sure, I knew about you. I knew that you were shameless about cheating on your wife. But I was young and dumb back then. You had that swagger that is pure Detroit, and I was enchanted by it. How could I, who cut my political teeth during the Clinton administration, say no to someone who spoke my language? I watched as you took out your earring when polls showed that older women just didn’t trust you, they thought it made you look like a thug and unprofessional. I should have listened to my elders. I laughed and pounded fists with my fellow Detroiters when you defiantly put your earring back in after you had won. But something inside of me silently questioned how far you really would go to get what you wanted.

I guess I got my answer. Two cops fired for getting too close to information that would expose your extra-marital affair(s?) and a stripper killed, possibly to cover up your misdeeds.

You claim they want to lock you up forever.  You’re being charged with eight counts of perjury. That’s fifteen years max for each count. Did you think they’d just lump it all together? Just because you kill six people at the same time doesn’t mean you can narrow it down to one count of murder. You’re a lawyer, you should know better. Emphasis on “should”, because apparently you chose not to use that Florida A&M University education when you went on the stand and lied under oath. What’s worse is that you somehow coerced Christine Beatty to do the same. I wonder what you told her to get her to cover for you after tossed her aside when you were done with her and went back to your wife. Or maybe you did that just to keep up appearances. We already know you’re not beyond that at all.

So, once again Mayor Kilpatrick, I ask you, please step down. Face this as a private citizen like the man you claim to be. Let go of the office so we can move on. That will be the only thing that can save your reputation, mangled as it already is. And it is the best thing you can do for Detroit so we can move on. The world should be focused on the fact that one of our high school bands was chosen to perform at the Beijing Olympics, not on the fact that you couldn’t keep your philandering private.

Sincerely,

She Who Must Not Be Named

2 Comments »

  1. Sumayyah Said:

    Well….. Somebody had to say it.

  2. Margaret Sikora Said:

    Wonderful letter, it says it all, I just can’t believe what comes out of this mans mouth…I lived in Detroit in the sixties and early seventies…I was there with Coleman Young, i never thought I woud ever
    see someone of your caliber to be mayor, I hated to see
    mayor Archer leave, he was such a wonderful man..The only
    thing KK is a brute, a womanizer, a liar, a brute, anything
    else, one thing we know, if his mouth is moving, he is
    lying..I give the council credit for not hearing his
    budget, who does he think he is, he insults them, then
    thinks they will just sit there and take his abuse..


{ RSS feed for comments on this post}

Leave a Reply

